The Give-and-Take of Grief « Michael Newland | This I Believe

Today, while on a Wild Goose chase, I came upon this wisdom shared by a father who gained this insight in a way most of us will never experience, but all of us who are parents can imagine. I offer it as an encouragement, an inspiration, a way into and through grief—all kinds of grief, not just the grief of a parent for a child. Do not be afraid to listen. Do not be afraid to feel. Please read or listen to Michael Newland describe his journey:

I believe that grieving is good for you. As a culture, I feel we’ve forgotten how to grieve, and last year, I had the opportunity to remember.

My wife was seven months pregnant when her blood pressure spiked. Her liver started to shut down, so the doctors performed a Cesarean and our son was delivered to save both of their lives.

The first time I saw my son, he was in an incubator with nurses clearing his airways. He looked at me, like a dolphin surfacing to look at a fisherman, and then resubmerged when the team took him away to stabilize him. He was the smallest, most fragile baby I’d ever seen. …

Go to: The Give-and-Take of Grief « Michael Newland | This I Believe.

Leave a comment, ask a question, please continue the conversation:

